F is For – @#?/ You!

Originally I had wanted to do a piece on food for the letter F, but that has been preempted and will come a little later.  Other events take precedence.

Strolling down the streets of town yesterday … sounds innocent enough right?  I’m in a good mood, taking it easy, when I see a young woman trying to catch a little dog.   It was comical to watch.  The little dog was running in circles around me and others.  There was a man for all appearances, gringo, anywhere from 65 to 150 years old urging her on and they were collecting quite a crowd of onlookers.

The woman darted from one side to the other, the little dog easily evading her and enjoying the chase as dogs do.  Then, success!  She got him by the hind leg.  Ohhhhhh he was less than impressed and proceeded to bite her numerous times.  What happened next was truly unbelievable.

Me gently inquiring, “Is that a street dog?”

Old man screaming at me, “It’s my dog, you foreigners need to keep your mouths shut.”

Mmmmm, ok, but your dog is running circles around me, that kind of puts me in the middle of this is how I’m thinking.  Then I’m thinking, you look every bit as gringo as I do, and the accent I hear in your Spanish is pretty much a give-a-way, but “W” … whatever!  I looked at the girl a foot away from me and told her that my concern was simply for her safety.  The young lady was very appreciative and gave me a broad smile, looking much less flustered.  This country has a serious rabies problem and had it been a street dog she would need medical attention.  I quietly told her to find out if it was vaccinated because if not she would still need attention.  People die here from rabies.  For that I received a barrage of insults from the old gringo.  Hmm, in a battle of wits, I am not defenseless, and yes, I do find it very difficult to keep my mouth completely shut, but I did inform him that his dog had far more human qualities than he did and that of the two, he was far more animal … and a few other choice words.

I can’t help but wonder today, thinking back, that this young dark skinned woman with the brilliant smile, should be able to find far better than that old gringo.  And I can’t help but wonder how much abuse she faces from his forked tongue or his gnarly hands.  Whether she is a simple employee or his concubine, it is irrelevant, she deserves better!

And to the crotchety old gringo … I think … yup …  I think I have this to say … @#?/ you, park your scooter and chase your own damn dog!

 

 

Listen to the palms…


~Loca Gringa

© Loca Gringa and https://locagringa.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

