10 Tips for Staying Sane Overseas

This isn’t specific to DR, but has relevance for expats worldwide!

The Intentional Expat

Last night I was asked on Twitter by fellow global citizen Longing to Travel, for my tips on keeping a positive attitude abroad. What a great question and one I’ve got a lot of answers to that I’ll be writing about more in detail here in the future. But in the meantime, I’ve come up with a summarized version of my top ten tips to keep a “glass half full” mentality when you find yourself in a slump abroad. Of course, the whole intentional aspect of living abroad involves being proactive, so I’d recommend trying out these tips even before the situation calls for you to turn your frown upside down. 

1) Remember that homesickness is inevitable. At some point, almost all travelers or expats are going to feel homesick. It might strike immediately after you arrive and start to think “what have I gotten myself into?,” or when…

View original post 1,810 more words

Leave a Reply

