El Pirata de la Guitarra – El Juego del Amor

The Andalucia, reproduction of a 1700's Spanish Galleon moored in the Colonial Zone.  Santo Domingo, DR

The Andalucia, reproduction of a 1700′s Spanish Galleon moored in the Colonial Zone. Santo Domingo, DR

I sailed to a distant land,
far from home, beyond time.
Guitar in hand he climbed aboard,
Betrayed by that heart of mine.

Every note his fingers played,
His melody cast it’s spell,
Every word he sang so clear,
Lyrics told the story well.

“Hoist the anchor!  “Set the sails!”
Perfect time my body swayed.
Heart beat in perfect rhythm,
Every note he picked and played.

Above the mast, sky alight,
Tempo risen with the sails,
Devil’s strings plucked and played
Fevered pitch in windy gales.

His music came upon me,
Lit a fire in the hold,
I felt alive at the helm,
He was very very bold.

As fast as the storm rode in,
He was gone with lightening speed,
Pirate of my stolen heart,
Memory of his music’s greed.

The Crow’s Nest offered solace,
To my tired and weary bones,
I now fly the pirate flag,
Independant, sail alone!

Salted breeze filled my senses,
My passion lit for the sea,
Music carried with her winds,
How my freedom beckoned me.

Mistress of my own domain,
Yes, these are my seven seas,
I am the pirate lady,
Cutthroat!  Yes!  As I may be.

The gentle waves hit the bow,
No frenzy at his depart,
The Sea knew the Pirate’s game,
Gently protecting my heart!

As her child she rocked me slow,
And caressed my inner need,
My ship set sail for new lands,
Despite the pirates deed!

Listen to the palms…


~Loca Gringa

 

© Loca Gringa, http://locagringapoetry.wordpress.com, and https://locagringa.wordpress.com

First Published:  April 3, 2013 · by Loca Gringa

 

Leave a Reply

