So you want to get your driver’s permit?

I don’t usually re-blog, but Amalia’s post is so true to Dominican life I had to share. Everything here is a royal pain in the @ss and a run around. You sort of but never really get used to it. Brilliant post Amalia!

amaliavaldez

It was a Wednesday morning in the beginning of July in Santo Domingo, and for some reason it seemed like the perfect time for me to finally go get my driver’s permit. I was 21 at the time, so yes, it kind of took me a long time to finally get that sorted, but hey, I lived abroad for four years in a city with a more-than-decent public transport system, so it’s not like I ever had the need to…

Anyways, it was probably the living abroad thing that completely spoiled me. Blame the fact that I was so used to Canadian bureaucracy that was kind of expecting a near-competent treatment from its Dominican counterpart. So, in the eve of my visit to the Transport Office, I looked up in their website (very naïve of me, in retrospect) which documents I needed to bring with me. I needed 2 2×2…

View original post 1,671 more words

Leave a Reply

