Y la Gente – For Hilary

Ripple Effect ~ An outward spreading series of consequences caused by a single action.

One drop of water can affect change.  As the drop of water hits the surface, and the ripples spread …  Let us be that drop of water and share with the world the needs of the many in the Dominican Republic.  Pick a foundation (medical, christian, baseball … there are many), give to the Red Cross (past experience showed that they are the organization that takes the least amount off donations for administrative purposes … only 4% … that puts more of your money to work), send school supplies to a school in campo, volunteer … spread the word.  Every little bit helps.

 

LET’S MAKE BIG GIANT WAVES and DROWN OUT POVERTY!!!

People always ask me why I’m in DR.  I tell them, “I love the people.”  That is a statement from the heart.  I wish I could do more to help them but the best I can do is to get the word out.

I met a little angel one day, 2 or 3 years old  (she told me she was 2, she may very well have been 2).  Her name was Hilary.  She came up to me wanting hugs and to pick her up.  She was hugging my legs, a real “cling-on.”  That never happens.  Children just don’t do that with me.  There is never any closeness, just a little bit of play.  Then I remembered seeing her in a different area a day or two before at a medical clinic.

DSC07420

I learned that she was abandoned.  Her prostitute mother didn’t want her.  She’d been living with the Pastora since she was born.  I picked her up in my arms, she weighed very little.  Tears streamed down my face as I held her close and loved her, and hugged her, and rocked her.  I whispered in her ear, “teamo, siempre (I love you always).”  She hugged a little harder and responded, “y la gente (and the people).”  I cried a little harder, not too much as I didn’t want to scare her.  Such a truth coming from these angelic lips …  “Y la gente,” she said.  Those very words that I continuously speak.

This was clearly a sign from God.  I’ve had many in my life, but none where as much of a wake-up call and a slap in the face as this was as to God’s existence.  I’ve never not believed, I just simply forget about God.  And, there were many signs this day.  Jesus was everywhere.  The jeepeta was slightly cut-off on the highway.  The offender had a big bold bumper sticker saying “Jesus loves you.”  Next thing, my phone rings and it’s my friend Jesus the guitarist.  Tooooooo many in one day to ignore.  Don’t get me wrong here.  I am not one of those born-again Christians.  I’m just a little Catholic girl that regularly loses her way.  And that’s OK, God doesn’t expect me to be perfect.

DSC07421

DSC_0072

To this day I think of her.  To this day I want her for my own.

I fell in love with one of God’s angels that day.  Teamo Hilary … siempre!  Dios te bendiga!

 

Listen to the palms…

~Loca Gringa

© Loca Gringa and https://locagringa.wordpress.com Edited and re-published May 1, 2014

12 responses to “Y la Gente – For Hilary

  1. What a beautiful testimony D! Missing all of you as we settle back into the routine of our lives. Will be praying for your protection from the tropical storm headed your way! Oxoxoxox

  2. Pingback: … And They Call Me Gringa | Loca Gringa·

  3. Pingback: S is For – Siempre | Loca Gringa·

Leave a Reply

