I Want to Know

I’m not interested in where you came from,
…..  or tragedies and triumphs of your past.
I’m not interested in how old you are,
…..  or how young you are.
I’m not interested in how you came to this point in life,
…..  or the things in your past that have made you who you are today.
I’m not interested in what you do for a living
…..  or where you live.
I’m not interested in how much money you have
…..  or how much education you have.


I am interested in YOU!  The YOU of today!

 

I want to know that you have the fortitude to get up every morning and make the best of what you have, no matter how beaten and bruised you are from life’s events.

I want to know what keeps you going day after day, what sustains you, what breathes life into you.

I want to know that life has made you strong and not withered your spirit from all your pains.

I want to know that you embrace the adventure of being alive and live each day as it were your last.

I want to know your dreams and what you yearn for.

I want to know  if you dare to pursue your dreams.

I want to know your passions.

I want to know what keeps your fire burning, what lights your way.

I want to know that you will be true to yourself, to be honest in all ways.

I want to know that you will never betray your own soul … or mine!

I want to know that you can live with my shortcomings … and your own!

I want to know that you will stand with me in the ring of the fire and after the attack, take my hand and walk away.

I want to know that you are not ashamed of your pain … or mine!

I want to know that you like yourself when you are with me, as I like myself when I am with you.

I want to know that you can see beauty in the most dismal of circumstances.

I want to know that your joys elicit joy from others.

I want to know that past sorrows bleed a compassion for others.

I want to know that you will stand with me and howl at the moon and fall down laughing at the silliness of it all.

I want to know that you will help me count the stars or the fireflies.

I want to know that you can dance me to ecstasy.

I want to know that feeling of energy that courses through my veins every time I see you, am with you, or simply think of you.

I want to know that you can bring me to a fevered pitch with but a simple word, gesture, or look.

I want to know that you will give me not 1, or 2, or 3 … but an infinite number of kisses.

I want to know that when I scream into the night that you will pull me from my fears.

I want to know that you will dream with me, achieve with me, all the possibilities of this wonderful life!

I want to know that we have peace and harmony in our little universe!

I want
…..  you to know
…..  …..  my responses
…..  …..  …..  to all of the above.
…..  …..  …..  …..  but most of all …..

I want
…..  you to know
….. ….. ….. siempre
,
…..  …..  …..  the depth
…..  …..  …..  …..  and breadth
…..  …..  …..  …..  …..  and height
…..  …..  …..  …..  …..  …..  of my love for you!

.

Listen to the palms…


~Loca Gringa

© Loca Gringa and https://locagringa.wordpress.com

24 responses to “I Want to Know

    • I just googled her. Wow she’s amazing! I wonder what her inspiration was. I particularly like the “shamanistic” tone in her piece!

      Me, I simply tire of being made to feel inadequate. This piece interestingly enough, is written outside the body as it were. A letter that I would like to receive :/ as it is filled with sentiment I freely give.

      I read and re-read her piece and the similarities make me wonder if I’ve read it before. Feels kind of creepy.

      • Wise? Not really. I just try to think in terms of what is right for “the person.” What’s right for me, what’s right for others … those two things may not be the same, frankly they rarely are.

        You have to do what’s right by people. Not what’s right by one person, but what’s right by all involved in whatever the situation. And to do that, you need to know the person(s), inside and out with no assumptions. So, I WANT TO KNOW … And, once you know, you, as a good person, would never say or do anything to harm another.

      • Yes! Only then can you make an accurate observation/assessment, rather than playing God. The problem arises when the person “thinks” they know…

        eesh!

      • Jajaja, that reminds me a one of my University professors. He taught French and well frankly grammar isn’t my strong suit. Yes, I write well, however, the mechanics of grammar elude me. He said to me of grammar, “If I stand behind you with a hammer and hit you on the head every time you make the same dumb mistake, will you learn.”

        Lol, nope! Thinking, some humans will never learn. Not unless they are told point blank, and even then!

      • It’s not even about knowing their true purpose. Simply live and let live, throw out your God complex and live in the other person’s shoes. There is little or no empathy with some people. That is far sadder.

  1. I want to let you know that I’ve been nominated for the Inner Peace and Sunshine Award by Come What May Girls. I’d like to pass on the sunshine and nominate YOU for the award! You always bring a little bit of sunshine into my life and the way your write exemplifies inner peace! Congratulations! You can view the post here with your nomination: http://turquoisecompass.com/2013/11/15/inner-peace-sunshine-award/
    Hopefully you will pass on the blogger lovins’ as well.
    -Jessica
    P.S. Great poem–totally inner peace themed

Leave a Reply

