Tiki

There are many great and wonderful things about this country.  But as there is ying and yang throughout the world, and DR is no exception, there are many dark sides.  This country is poverty stricken.  With human poverty comes many devastations.  The devastation to humanity pulls at the heartstrings.  Humanity’s inhumanity to animals in this country also pulls at the heartstrings.  The reality is that there isn’t enough money to go around.  People cannot help themselves in many ways, let alone help animals.  I will be showcasing humanitarian efforts in later blogs in greater detail.  This blog is the focus of .. Tiki!

aDSC07118

A little over two weeks ago, I came home with Tiki. She had her neck shaved, or the hair was worn off, not sure which, it is now growing back. She had mites, they are under control. She was de-parasited, de-flead, and vaccinated (all for under 10 dollars). She was a very sad and depressed little kitten. She was so skinny and delicate that I could feel every bone in her body. I was worried that I would break her. Kitten kibble did not sit well with her and she wasn’t eating. She was becoming listless. Sardines … saved the day. In DR they are cheaper than cat food anyways!

I’m happy, very happy to say that she is now thriving. She has almost doubled in size and I can no longer feel her bones. She is glued to my side. Should have named her “Kling-on”.

Many days I see kittens, literally dying in the streets or dying on the garbage piles here.  I’ve seen kittens so dehydrated that they had no eyes, injuries are astronomical.  I wish that I could bring every last one of them home. But that is like laundry. There is no end. The same, can be said for dogs.  Between being hit by cars, internal parasites, fleas, mange, rabies, and other diseases, homeless animals suffer.  What once starts as a healthy puppy born on the street soon becomes exposed.  I cannot count the numbers of strays, but I know I have 5 stray dogs on my street and more than that for cats.  In Dominican Republic, that’s a commonality.

I wish, I were a vet with unlimited resources.

That being said, there are a few organizations here, a few pet rescues that are always in desperate need of volunteers or funding.  These are three that I know of:

http://www.doggiehouse.org/

https://www.facebook.com/doggiehouseorg?fref=ts

http://www.collaresrojos.com/

https://www.facebook.com/CollaresRojos?fref=ts

https://www.facebook.com/pages/PADELA/260655759286

Thank you to these organizations that are working little miracles … and some big ones!

Listen to the palms…


~Loca Gringa

© Loca Gringa and https://locagringa.wordpress.com

10 responses to “Tiki

  1. That is so heartbreaking! As a true and deep animal lover, if I lived in your country I think I would end up homeless because I would give all my money and shelter to these babies (even though that’s not rational). Good luck to you and Tiki!

  2. Good for you — this is such a big problem all over the world and it’s hard to know how to help most effectively.

    • As a “lone” person, even if you’ve helped one person, or one animal, and acted on prevention, then, you’ve done good. What we need is to educate people to try to do the same.

  3. I love cats a lot more than dogs. 😉 Sweet little kittie. I’m allergic though, badly. So we can’t have cats either. We did take in a cat last year (because in Israel there are a lot of homeless cats, too) but because she was an outdoor car, she was always at risk. She was with us for about 6 months and then one day didn’t come back. 😦 Now we’re trying to decide if it’s a disservice to “adopt” an outdoor cat.

    • Darwin’s Theory of Evolution and survival of the fittest applies here! However, if the beastie isn’t the “fittest” then it’s never a dis-service … However, depending how feral they are you may not get close enough to adopt.

      My household was adopted last year by a cat, next thing, came in with 3 one month old kittens. Two of the three were impossible to domesticate. Eventually my roommate found homes for all. I wasn’t at a point that I wanted to keep any of them, and even with Tiki, I was very unsure. Now, Her and I, stuck like glue and I don’t regret the decision for one moment.

  4. I was pleased to see that in places in Panama, service organizations like Rotary helped fund the rounding up and the spaying and neutering of dogs. (They did not have a cat problem.) Within three years the stray dog problem was fixed. I know it takes dedication and effort, but a happy ending is possible for the animals.

  5. Same here in Nicaragua. We have three kittens that were rescued from certain death..two stuffed into a plastic bag and thrown in the dump and the other thrown over a large brick wall. It is horrible! But, there are so many good people who are trying to help. Like you say, it’s like the laundry..it’s a never ending job. Congratulations on your new kitty Tiki. Tiki will have a wonderful home.

Leave a Reply

