A Crowd Gathers

“Everything happens for a reason.”

When you see a crowd gathered, you know there’s a reason behind it.

Walking around last night, I was intent on finding a food source.  “Mmm, tengo mucho hambre,” I said to myself.  What to eat, what to eat, what to eat?  There’s a multitude of choices in the area, though nothing seemed to really appeal to me.  Something was off!  Something was in the air … a restlessness if you will.  It’s truly amazing how you can sense the restlessness.

Getting close to the chicken joint, I see a crowd in the middle of the street.  Not a large crowed, maybe about 15 – 20 people comprised mostly of adults and a few children.  Family!  That’s what Dominican Republic is all about.  The street is a busy street, it’s uncommon to see anyone in standing the middle.  There they were, gathered, convened, for what purpose I wondered?

It drew my memory of the happenings a couple weeks back.  A young man, well known and well loved in the community was mugged at approximately 9pm.  He had a beer in his hand, I don’t know if it was a large or a small, but he used it to fight off the attackers.  He quickly lost the battle as they shot and killed him.  Yup, capped him right there on the busy street.  A street that is busy with traffic, pedestrians, families, people hanging out playing dominoes, or simply seated at the side in plastic chairs having a beer.  May he rest in peace and may his family and friends find solace.  From cold-blooded murder, the “ladrones” went around the corner to rob one of the less busy colmados a couple hundred feet away.  Amazing!  Disgustingly so!  When you think to Canada, a committed murder would usually mean fleeing the scene, long and far.  Nope, not here.

This act of violence broke the very heart of the neighbourhood.

Foto Credit:  Casanova, gathered from Facebook.

Foto Credit:   Casanova

My wandering mind thinking of him, I stayed away from the crowd.  Thinking, “curiosity killed the cat,” I had no intention to be the cat.  At this point I didn’t know whether a fight was brewing, remember that.  After seeing a man beat the mother of his child to a pulp, again, a couple weeks back, I steered clear.

I stopped at a local joint, ordered 1/2 a meal to quench the hunger.  I motioned to the crowd with my lips in true Dominican fashion, “que paso?” I asked the vendor.  There was another shooting, 5 minutes before I arrived.  No-one had been hit, but there was a discharge in the street.  Police were called but it’s debatable that they would take a statement.  Just another unidentifiable shooting.  THIS, is the wild west.  Dominican style!  There are more guns than sheriffs.  This serves as one more reminder that life is precious and that you always need to be vigilant.  My wandering mind needs to stop tripping over itself and be more aware.

Oh, did I mention … I once found a spent bullet on my roof.  Nice striations, looks like a 45 to me.

Moral of the story, if you see a crowd, there is always a reason.  If you see people bolting, running, there is always a reason.  Run, duck and cover!

Think I’ll stay home tonight.

Listen to the palms…


~Loca Gringa

© Loca Gringa and https://locagringa.wordpress.com

4 responses to “A Crowd Gathers

    • The country is the size of a postage stamp. 1/14th the size of most Canadian provinces. About 13,000,000 people, legal and illegal live here. Across the country, every day, the large cities, every day.

Leave a Reply

