Travel Theme: Shadows

In the shadows!  What a great travel theme to explore.  I’m not certain that this will have a pictorial with it, perhaps just a simple document.  Let’s see how this will play out shall we…

Shadows!  This theme can have so many implications.  From visual to mind, it can take on any direction.  At first I started thinking in terms of a pictorial.  Then I thought, “gee whiz, is shade the same as a shadow.”  I decided no, shade and shadows are different.  One can “lurk” in the shadows, which I often do 🙂 (no sunlight = shadow, sunlight = shade), or a living thing can cast a shadow.  Otherwise, it’s shade.

I have a vision of Frank Sinatra and Sammy Davis Jr. singing “Me and My Shadow,” I think I like the direction this is taking…  After much thought and consideration … a pictorial it is.  Hope you enjoy Beach Shadows of the Dominican Republic!

First touch of the ocean!

First touch of the ocean! With flippies in hand!

Horseback riding on the beach.  I can still smell the freshness of the unspoiled, uninhabited beach.  This was pristine at it's best.

Horseback riding on the beach. I can still smell the freshness of the unspoiled, uninhabited beach. This was pristine at it’s best.

A pre-twilight swim!  Silhouette and shadow/reflection.  Very peaceful, very serene!

A pre-twilight swim! Silhouette and shadow/reflection. Very peaceful, very serene!

Feet, feet, feet!  Surface ripples creating shadows.  For those that don't have, a cheap underwater camera is "Skookum"

Feet, feet, feet! Surface ripples casting shadows. To me, the ocean, is a living thing.  For those that don’t have, a cheap underwater camera is “Skookum”

Sunrise!  I look sooooooo tall ...

Sunrise! I look sooooooo tall …

Patiently waiting for the crab to appear.  Notice all the little crab tracks as yet undisturbed in the morning light.  My legs look so long and thin in the sunrise shadows ...

Patiently waiting for the crab to appear. Notice all the little crab tracks as yet undisturbed in the morning light. My legs look so long and thin in the sunrise shadows …

Ahhhh a great love and I, and my lovely daughter in the late afternoon light.  The daughter is permanent, still don't know about the great love :) ... sooo fickle.

Ahhhh a great love and I, and my lovely daughter in the late afternoon light. The daughter is permanent, still don’t know about the great love 🙂 … sooo fickle.

There you have it, my pictorial in shadows.  Yup!  Life’s a Beach!

Thanx to:

http://wheresmybackpack.com/

for offering up the challenge of this writing assignment.

Listen to the palms…


~Loca Gringa

© Loca Gringa and https://locagringa.wordpress.com

2 responses to “Travel Theme: Shadows

Leave a Reply

