The Simple Art of – Tostones

Mmmmm!  Tostones (toe.stone.ease).

A gift from the island Gods … the plantain!

Tostones are akin to a banana chip but savory not sweet.  The are made with green plantain, and twice fried.  Add a little salt and you are good to go.  Definitely my favorite Dominican food.  They are easy to prepare once you have a few tricks up your sleeves.  Though I am certainly no expert, I make a passable tostone.  The tostone press is a handy little kitchen gadget makes them a uniform thickness with ease.  The oil needs to be hot but not extreme.  Extremely hot oil causes them to cook a little too fast and they risk being overcooked.  The following will be a pictorial recipe of sorts.  The steps are easy and after a time or two, you’ll be a PRO!

My ambrosia!

My ambrosia!

Wash.  Peel the plantain by slicing off the ends and slicing down the side.  Now oil your hands so they don't get sticky with the goo from the peel.  Slide your fingers under the peel and work it off.  Slice diagonally into 3/4 inch segments.

Wash. Peel the plantain by slicing off the ends and slicing down the side. Now oil your hands so they don’t get sticky with the goo from the peel. Slide your fingers under the peel and work it off. Slice diagonally into 3/4 inch segments.

In hot oil, pan fry both sides until they are a pale a pale brown colour.

In hot oil, pan fry both sides until they are a pale a pale brown colour.

Remove from from pan.

Remove from from pan.

Oil your tostone press to make it easier to remove pressed plantain.

Oil your tostone press to make it easier to remove pressed plantain.

Flatten.

Flatten.

Nice flat and uniform.

Nice flat and uniform.

Re-fry on both sides to your taste.  I like mine a little darker than most as that gives it a bit more crunch.

Re-fry on both sides to your taste. I like mine a little darker than most as that gives it a bit more crunch.

Add a little salt and you are good to go!Enjoy

Add a little salt and you are good to go!
Enjoy

Listen to the palms…


~Loca Gringa

© Loca Gringa and https://locagringa.wordpress.com

4 responses to “The Simple Art of – Tostones

  1. How interesting! I’d always wondered how they made them so flat! This is going to be my weekend project, thanks for the recipe!

  2. A good friend of mine who is Puerto Rican used to make these for me in his kitchen and I LOVED them. I could make a meal solely out of fried plantains. I spent a few years living in a Dominican neighborhood in New York, and while I took full advantage of all the good avocados around I never ventured to cook my own plantains. This post makes me yearn for some!

Leave a Reply

