Love – A Musing – No, Nothing Funny About It

Love … to provoke thought!

~~~

Looking out the window, snow falling gently, there is an emptiness within. I ponder what the great minds of history thought of when they thought about love. I have a lot of time to ponder these days. And, I wonder how different, how far off the path we are when we think about love in these times. They used to say that every woman looked at a man through the circle of the wedding ring. That’s a stone far too romanticized. What are we expecting? What are we willing to give up for it? How much are we willing to fight for it, as long as there are two fighting for it (if there is only one, there is no point)? For that matter, are we any different in our thoughts and feelings than history has shown? I think history dictated that love was purely whimsical, most people sought out to either be good providers or to be with a good provider. Love took a back seat.

~~~

I don’t even know where I myself sit to answer these questions. I’m not the huge romantic, I’m more practical than romance. But I’ve had so little romance in my life that just a little bit has gone a long way in my realizing what my missing link to happiness is. What have I been afraid of? Hurt. Being clinical has kept me safe for 30 years. It’s kept my heart safe but it’s kept me from living. It has made me cold in many ways. Being clinical has been a blessing in the last fiasco though. However, had I been the romancing type, the whole fisco would have been shelved long ago.

I think in material terms of the things I love. Just things in a round-about way. The magic of a brand new fluffy snowfall, crisp smell after a rain, the rainbow signifying hope, the cat chasing her tail in a big box… these are things I love. Funny, possessions never entered into my mind. Hmm, I do love my laptop though. I guess that I’m less shallow that I’ve always thought. But of people, what of them? What is the big thing about people outside of our immediate families that determines why we love them? Common ground, common sensitivities, a deep look from the eyes that seems to come from the depths of their soul, small gestures that speak volumes, and I wonder what else?

~~~

What is love, what aids love, give it up for romance … I’ld like to steal you all a flower for your memories … Bird of Paradise maybe … Now, THAT is my happy memory!

~~~

So, maybe if you all can offer up some of your wisdom…

January 4, 2012 –

Listen to the palms…


~Loca Gringa

© Loca Gringa and https://locagringa.wordpress.com

2 responses to “Love – A Musing – No, Nothing Funny About It

  1. I married someone I had a lot in common with when I was 25. We raised two girls who are now wonderful young women. After 30 years we divorced, having nothing in common. In 2005 I met a woman with whom I had little in common, and we have had a joyous time seeing the world together. I was 57 when we married. The point is, there should be no sense of urgency about love. It either happens or it doesn’t, and the joy of life is not dependent on love.
    That’s my perspective, for what it may be worth. – Mike

Leave a Reply

